Skip links


The Galapagos Islands or the Archipelago of Colon is an Ecuadorian province located 972 kilometers west of the Ecuadorian coast. Officially, it is also called Ecuador´s Insular Region. The capital is Puerto Baquerizo Moreno and depends directly on the National Government.

The Galapagos Islands are an archipelago in the Pacific Ocean and are made up of 13 large volcanic islands, 6 smaller islands and 107 rocks and islets. The formation of the first island, would have taken place more than 5 million years ago as a result of tectonic activity.

The youngest islands are: Isabela and Fernandina and are still in the process of formation, the most recent volcanic eruption was in 2009.

Under the presidency of Juan José Flores, the Galapagos Islands were annexed to Ecuador on February 12, 1832. And since February 18, 1973, they have been a province of this country.

They are known around the world as the "Enchanted Islands", famous for their numerous endemic species and for Charles Darwin's studies that led him to establish his "Theory of Evolution by natural selection". In addition, the flora and fauna found in the islands is practically unique.
The Galapagos were declared a National Park in 1959. In 1978, UNESCO declared them a Natural World Heritage Site, and in 1985 a Biosphere Reserve. In 1986, the sea surrounding the Galapagos Islands was declared a marine reserve.
In 2001, UNESCO added to the declaration of Natural Heritage of Humanity, other recognitions such as: Whale Sanctuary, Biosphere Reserve and RASMAR Site (for the protection of wetlands).